President Higgins took home a landslide 55.81% of the vote

Michael D Higgins has officially won the Presidential Election.

The final results were announced at Dublin Castle this evening.

President Higgins topped the polls with 822,566 votes - or 55.81% of the total.

Peter Casey came in second with 342,727  or 23.25% after his comments on Traveller ethnicity saw him shoot from a projected 2% a week ago.

Businessman Sean Gallagher came in third with 6.41% of the vote while Sinn Féin’s Liadh Ní Riada came in fourth with 6.38%.

Senator Joan Freeman came in fifth with 5.96% while Gavin Duffy came in last with 2.18%.

Speaking after he was officially elected, President Higgins said clear choices were now opening up as to what will characterise Irishness into the future.

“Will it be a commitment to inclusion and a shared world or a retreat to the misery of individualism?” he asked.

“The people have made a choice as to which version of Irishness they want reflected at home and abroad.

“It is the making of hope they wish to share rather than the experience of any exploitation of division or fear.

“The version of Ireland which can best represent our people at home and abroad is one which draws on traditional genius and contemporary creativity; deep connections and new solidarities; respect and transformation.

“The Presidency belongs not to any one person but to the people of Ireland.

“I will be a president for all the people. For those who voted for me and for those who did not.

“Because I am so proud of our country, I am proud to be a president for all of you and with all of you.

“I look forward with joy and hope to all that we will achieve together.”