Monaghan's Rory Beggan Takes Goalkeeping Award

For the All Ireland winners a place on the team of the year is generally regarded as the cherry on top of the season. For those that don't claim Liam or Sam it's an accolade that might spur a player on to greatness in subsequent seasons, or at least provide some encouragement to stick with it.

And who doesnt like a bit of praise from time time?

Needless to say the gaelic football kingpins of the past season have a good sprinkling of medal winners on the season ending PWC All Star gaelic football team.

Dublin’s four in-a-row winning All-Ireland champions have been honoured with seven places on this year’s PwC All-Star Football team.

Jim Gavin’s all-conquering side are the dominant presence in a selection that sees Monaghan claiming three, Tyrone two and one place each awarded to Kerry, Galway and Donegal.

Dublin are now second in the roll of honor for All-Star winners in football with 123 all-star awards in football, with Kerry leading on 141.

The 2018 representation matches the seven the Dubs also received as champions in 2015 and 1995.

But the biggest talking point in the capital is the exclusion of culbaire Stephen Cluxton.

In goal, Monaghan’s influential Rory Beggan is a first-time all-star in what is his fourth year to receive a nomination.

It could be argued and must surely have been in the selection committee meetings that Beggan offered more to Monaghan than simply standing in front of the nets, having bagged a few key scores this summer.

Would Monaghan have gone as far without him?

Could the same be said of Stephen Cluxton?

Discussion will continue in a lounge bar near you.

Dublin’s Jonny Cooper and Tyrone’s Colm Cavanagh pick up their second all-star awards in a full-back line completed by first time winner Padraig Hampsey From Tyrone.

Monaghan’s flying wing back Karl O’Connell is rewarded for his exceptional season with a first all-star.

Beside him in the half back line are influential Dublin duo James McCarthy and Jack McCaffrey who each collect a third all-star from their glittering careers.

Midfield is an all-Dublin affair where the versatile Brian Howard is a first-time winner and selected alongside the inspirational Brian Fenton who adds a 2018 PwC all-star to those won in 2015 and 2016.

Following on from his man of the match display in the county final on Monday, a great week for Kilmacud Crokes Paul Mannion continues with his selection in the half forward line, and in what is his second career all-star.

Beside him, Ciaran Kilkenny collects a third all-star after his prolific performances this season, while Donegal dynamo Ryan McHugh wins a second all-star award after helping his side win Ulster.

David Clifford crowns his impressive debut senior inter-county season with an all-star at corner forward for Munster champions Kerry.

Connacht champions Galway are represented by Corofin’s Ian Burke in the other corner.

At full forward Monaghan’s Conor McManus collects what is his third all-star award.

The announcement of the Footballer and Hurler of the Year and awards for Young Footballer and Young Hurler of the Year will be made at the lieve ceremony in Dublin's Convention Centre where the hurling team of the year will be named.

The player of the year awards are voted on exclusively by the players. The nominees for these are Brian Fenton, Ciaran Kilkenny and Jack McCaffrey for Player of the Year and David Clifford, Brian Howard and Michael McKernan shortlisted for Young Player.

2018 PwC Football All-Stars

Goalkeeper 1. Rory Beggan (Monaghan)


2. Jonny Cooper (Dublin). Previous winner in 2016

3. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone). Previous winner in 2017

4. Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)

5. Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

6. James McCarthy (Dublin). Previous winner in 2014 & 2017

7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin). Previous winner in 2015 & 2017


8. Brian Fenton (Dublin). Previous winner in 2015 & 2016

9. Brian Howard (Dublin)


10. Paul Mannion (Dublin). Previous winner in 2017

11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin). Previous winner in 2015 & 2016

12. Ryan McHugh (Donegal). Previous winner in 2016

13. David Clifford (Kerry)

14. Conor McManus (Monaghan). Previous winner in 2013 & 2015

15. Ian Burke (Galway)