6 reps from All Ireland Champions included

All-Ireland champions Corofin have been rewarded with six players on the first ever AIB GAA Club Players’ football team of the championship.

Galway and Connacht champions Corofin had to show plenty of resilience en route to Croke Park, but cut loose on St Patrick’s Day where they produced a sensational shooting display against Nemo Rangers to capture the club’s third AIB All-Ireland senior club football title.

Hence Liam Silke, Kieran Fitzgerald, Dylan Wall, Michael Farragher, Ian Burke and Martin Farragher have all been awarded a place on the inaugural football team of the championship.

In an additional coup for the club, Corofin also completely dominate the short list for AIB GAA Club footballer of the year with Ian Burke, Michael Farragher and Liam Silke providing the short list.

Inspirational dual club Slaughtneil have the next highest representation with four footballers from the Derry club selected. Antóin McMullan, Karl McKaigue, Chrissy McKaigue and Chris Bradley all feature after their exploits over the season.

Stylish half back James Murray and sharp shooter Eanna O’Connor represent Kildare and Leinster champions Moorefield.

Despite their misfire in the All-Ireland final, there was still much to admire about Nemo Rangers, particularly in a typically tough Munster campaign, and midfielder Alan O’Connor and full forward Luke Connolly represent the Cork and Munster champions.

The team is completed by Donegal star Patrick McBrearty who was in sensational form for his club Kilcar over the course of their two matches in the Ulster club championship and was a class apart in the full-forward line.

Uachtarán Cumann Luthchleas Gael John Horan said: “It’s a great honour for all of those players who have been selected – especially with this being the inaugural year of these awards – and I congratulate them all.

Specially commissioned awards by Tipp artist Jarlath Daly will be presented to the players at a banquet at Croke Park on Saturday, April 21 where the overall Club Footballer of the Year will be announced live on the night.

The AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards for Hurling will be announced on April 18.

The team in full is: AIB GAA CLUB PLAYERS’ AWARDS – FOOTBALL 2018 1. Antóin McMullan (Slaightneil) 2. Liam Silke (Corofin) 3. Kieran Fitzgerald (Corofin) 4. Karl McKaigue (Slaughtneil) 5. James Murray (Moorefield) 6. Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil) 7. Dylan Wall (Corofin) 8. Alan O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers) 9. Michael Farragher (Corofin) 10. Eanna O’Connor (Moorefield 11. Christopher Bradley (Slaughtneil) 12. Ian Burke (Corofin) 13. Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar) 14. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers) 15. Martin Farragher (Corofin) FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR NOMINEES Ian Burke (Corofin), Michael Farragher (Corofin), Liam Silke (Corofin)