Jurgen Klopp and Lionel Messi the big winners at the Best FIFA Awards

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp has been named the men's coach of the year at the Best FIFA awards in...

Jurgen Klopp and Lionel Messi...


Jurgen Klopp and Lionel Messi the big winners at the Best FIFA Awards

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp has been named the men's coach of the year at the Best FIFA awards in Milan this evening.

Klopp guided his side to the Champions League last season, where they beat Tottenham in the final. Meanwhile, they were pipped to the Premier League title by Manchester City.

He beat City manager Pep Guardiola and Spurs boss Mauricio Pochettino to the award.

Barcelona and Argentina star Lionel Messi won the men's player award, having scored 54 goals in 58 games - one every 86 minutes.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Virgil Van Dijk were tonight's other finalists.

Liverpool defender Van Dijk was named the PFA Player of the Year and Premier League Player of the Year, and also helped the Netherlands to Uefa Nations League final.

It was a year in which Messi helped his side to the Spanish La Liga title, the tenth of his career, and also claimed the European Golden Shoe for the sixth time after netting 36 league goals in the 2018/19 campaign.

There's a full break-down of how players and managers voted here.

Republic of Ireland captain Seamus Coleman opted for Messi, Van Dijk and Ronaldo in that order. Irish boss Mick McCarthy opted for a 1-2-3 of Van Dijk, Frankie De Jong, and Harry Kane.

Liverpool net-minder Alisson picked up the men's goalkeeper award, after a season that saw him help them to the European Cup and keep a league-high 21 clean sheets in the English top flight.

The two-time World Cup winner Megan Rapinoe picked up the FIFA women’s Player award to add to her list of accolades.

Rapinoe picked up the Golden Ball and Golden Boot at the tournament - scoring in a tight round of 16 game against Spain, against the hosts France in the quarter-final and in the final victory itself.

Rapinoe's international coach Jill Ellis picked up the Best FIFA women's coach award, seeing off England Women's boss Phil Neville and Dutch manager Sarina Wiegman.

Ellis will end her tenure as the USWNT Manager in October, having become the only coach to lift the Women’s World Cup Trophy twice.

Leeds United manager Marcelo Bielsa won the fair play award after allowing Aston Villa to score unopposed in the Championship last season.

Bielsa ordered his side to allow Villa to score an equaliser at Elland Road in April. Mateusz Klich had put Leeds ahead while Villa forward Jonathan Kodjia was down with an injury.

The 2018-2019 FIFA FIFPRO Men's World 11:

Player (country, last season’s team)


Alisson Becker (Brazil, Liverpool)


Virgil van Dijk (The Netherlands, Liverpool)
Matthijs de Ligt (The Netherlands, Ajax/currently Juventus)
Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid)
Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)


Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea/currently Real Madrid)
Frenkie de Jong (The Netherlands, Ajax/currently Barcelona)
Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid)


Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain)
Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus)


The 2018-2019 FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11:
Player (country, last season’s team)


Sari van Veendaal (The Netherlands, Arsenal/currently Atletico)


Lucy Bronze (England, Olympique Lyonnais)
Nilla Fischer (Sweden, VfL Wolfsburg/currently Linkopings)
Kelly O’Hara (USA, Utah Royals)
Wendie Renard (France, Olympique Lyonnais)


Julie Ertz (USA, Chicago Red Stars)
Amandine Henry (France, Olympique Lyonnais)
Rose Lavelle (USA, Washington Spirit)


Alex Morgan (USA, Orlando Pride)
Megan Rapinoe (USA, Reign FC)
Marta Vieria (Brazil, Orlando Pride)

Read more about

Awards Cristiano Ronaldo FIFA FIFABest Awards Jill Ellis Jurgen Klopp Lionel Messi Liverpool Marcelo Bielsa Megan Rapinoe Off The Ball

You might like